I Forge Iron

Hammer Question...

andgott

I'm getting to where I am back working in the forge a couple days a week- And starting to feel it in my arm.

I already have some minor wrist issues- As an artist, I spend hours with a pencil or paintbrush in hand, and while I do what I can to keep CTS at bay, I often find myself in pain after a few marathon days at the drawing board. I guess it's a hazard of the profession.

So- I got to thinking about how forging is going to affect me long term, and the ergonomic issues that I am dealing with. It seems to me that swinging a hammer is probably impacing me far more than my pencil work is- And I want to make sure I am going about it RIGHT.

I have read a lot about the Hofi Hammers, and the technique, on this site- And I am really considering making the 'investment'. How much good am I going to be able to get without actually having the technique demonstrated? Is it easy enough to learn on my own?

Also- For those who have the hammers- A size suggestion would be helpful. I tend to work with about a 2-3 lb hammer usually, So I would guess that I'd be looking at either the 2.75 or 3.3 Hofi. I am just wondering if the people out there that are using them have found that they wanted a larger or smaller hammer than what they were 'used' to in a more traditional version?

Thanks!

I would get the 2.75. If you already have issues with your wrist I wouldn't push it with the hammer weight. Besides, it is not the weight of the hammer that does the work, it is the speed of the hammer. If you can swing a lighter hammer faster than a heavier hammer you will get more work done. I am not talking about swings per minute but the velocity of the hammer head. That is based on scientific fact.