I Forge Iron

My second ever welding project

So here are a few snaps of me and a few fiends at work making a security gate for the first time.

394886_520105361356578_703854403_n.jpg

This is the gate.

546915_520105291356585_1674856909_n.jpg

Doing some grinding.

25960_520105114689936_1485581521_n.jpg

Me welding.

546808_520104958023285_305123404_n.jpg

Is this a bad position to be in or is it OK to be above the weld?

6117_520104711356643_1975594630_n.jpg

My friend acting like a caveman.

19125_520104691356645_270191959_n.jpg

The gate is up.

3821_520104634689984_1104413884_n.jpg

Welding in the hinges.

Well this was a real learning experience for me. My biggest learning curve was to have a striking plate so as to heat up the rod before the actual weld so as not to mar the final product as well as to make a perfect weld the first time and not one of those blobby spotty ones.

Tell me what you think, any advice is welcome as I am a beginner.

"Sunburn" from a welder arc flash is WAY worse than sunburn. Get some gloves and wear sleeves, same with your assistants. You may also want to cover your neck. Yes, PPE can be hot and uncomfortable, but there are selections that can be made to help with your climate.

How's your back feel? That pose is not good for lifting, or staying still for very long, but if your back can take it then OK then...at least for now. Sawhorses are worth their weight in gold sometimes. They make the back feel better at the end of the day.

It is a simple gate that looks good. Is the client happy?

Phil