I Forge Iron

brake drum forge

johnrgarland

I'm new to forging. Yesterday I saw a video of about this forge and I built one!
I went to a brake shop and got a decent size one from their discard pile. The yahoo at the salvage yard wanted to sell me one for $15 bucks!
Parts List is as follows: (hope this isn't posted somewhere further down the list)

I credit this guy for all of this - The Brake Drum Forge - YouTube.

Blow dryer
2 - 2" x 4" threaded nipples (all black iron as galvanized releases bad gas when heated)
1 - 2" x 1' or 2' threaded pipe
1 - 2" end cap
1 - 2" T
1 - 2" Flange

I used concrete blocks as a stand but that is for later.

Attach the flange to one of the short nipples to the cross of the T.
Attach the other short nipple and to the other cross of the T.
Attach the cap to this nipple. It is the catch-all for the ash or clinkers that fall into the T. Only empty it when it is cool or use necessary protection and a lot of caution.
Attach the long nipple (pipe) to the leg of the T
Attach the flange to the brake from with nuts, bolts and washers. I used 5/16".

The holes on the flange may not match many of the holes on the drum. If you can match more than two holes good for you. I couldn't but it still fired up well.

• 2 weeks later...