I Forge Iron

Bending Letters for Branding Irons

Good evening,

My name is Grant I am brand new to blacksmithing and have been teaching myself how to work with metal for the last month and a half or so on weekends. I sort of jumped right into plasma cutting and MIG welding as I have always been fascinated with the idea of being able to make or fix pretty much whatever I wanted out of metal. I make grills, smokers, various yard art and whatever comes to mind after a nice trip to the metal recyclers. Quickly I realized though that it would be better to be able to physically shape the metal myself and am slowly learning how to forge things such as railroad spike knives (decent looking but still a bit crude), hooks, and ornamental flowers. Now I would like to make branding irons for friends and myself. Would like to make "Legal" style as well as steak brands with smaller flat iron or round stock.

So far I have been trial and error style cold bending with my homemade vice bending forks, my railroad track anvil and various hammers. It is proving very difficult to make consistent letters in both typeface and size. I can make "nice" looking letters with said equipment however keeping them to the same scale as the others is difficult. This I might add is with small round mild steel, currently experimenting with 3/16"-1/4". Does anybody have any tips on how to be more accurate/more consistent? I would like to make some nice quality brands to give as gifts and have wasted probably 8' of nice new steel on some inaccurately bent letters. Not a whole lot of material I know but waste is waste. They are definitely recognizable as characters however they just do not "look right" together.

11402.attach