I Forge Iron

My first folder - "1944"

Simian

Hey All. 

I envy you guys in the states - if we want to carry a knife in the UK it has to be under 3" and non-locking. But, it gives me the want to try making one!

So this is my first attempt at a slip joint, and it's a 80th birthday present for my Dad. 

From this;

IMG_0077.thumb.jpeg.b2b5b895f630e69588e90313fac0e4aa.jpeg

Some of my own damascus (80 layer!) for the blade and spring (old handsaws and 1095), 1.6mm brass liners and stainless pins (with a bushing). 

To this, with Rosewood scales & Stainless bolts. (another nod to the future owner - My Mum's name is Rose);

IMG_0090.thumb.jpeg.0c6e261a5cd93c850f4de1b896f45d5a.jpeg

It's not perfect. I did my best to get the steel flat without a surface grinder, but the liners ended up a tiny bit out of parallel so it *just* bites as it closes and doesn't snap shut :( The walk and talk from halfway to fully open is good, but I also fudged the closed position, so the spring is a fraction below the liners (flush at open and half). I learned a lot, and number two should be a vast improvement. 

Critique welcome. 

IMG_0088.thumb.jpeg.1ba80a9864268345a658e01ca3b0fbb2.jpegIMG_0089.thumb.jpeg.e08a14dc9f3ebe7fcb1a6db780650ca2.jpegIMG_0091.thumb.jpeg.5d5b7d664088168774968c6aec150d0b.jpegIMG_0092.thumb.jpeg.9cb472a543031b1cdf6cd3591a56a5ce.jpeg

Very nice, I like it and of course your next blade will be more to your liking and the next and the next . . . 

Critique eh? Try photographing on different backgrounds till you find the color, texture, distance and lighting that shows your work off best. The straw color basket is a dark subject on a light background that is busy with shadows. Try a pale to medium pale green soft fabric, say a blanket with a telephoto from a distance. You want the light from an angle or it will reflect straight into the lens and cause glare.