I Forge Iron

Introduction

Castle7

Hello all, my name is Michael. I have never done blacksmithing before other than straitening out bent axles. Blacksmithing has always intriqued me but have never been able to do anything about it. Good thing is that I may be able to start this year. So I've decided to start researching and hopefully begin collecting tools. Money is limited for me right now. The tools I have now are a bench grinder with 80 and 60 grit wheels, a 3-5lb mallot, a 6in section of railroad track, some pliers and hammers and common tools like that. I have a grill but my father will be using it for food in the summer. I do have access to 55gal drums at the local auto shop. He said they would give them to me for free. But I'll have to transport it. That shouldn't be a problem. I also have three old lawn mower blades. What do I need to look into to start small smithing projects? Feel free to ask me any questions.

Stuff about me. I'm in High school, I like medieval siege weapons and history in general. I like chess and mountian biking. I live in Michigan. I have built a couple catapults. And right now I'm having computer trouble so I will post more later.

Castle7,

Welcome, You are starting out just like alot of us :) . Blacksmithing does not take alot of money to do nice work. For what it's worth don't start out by making a sword. Read alot,ask alot of questions and listen to the answers.
Smithing is fun and fulfilling but it is also very dangerous. Use your head and if your not sure about what you are trying to do stop and ask someone. Unasked questions can hurt real bad. Not trying to scare you just use your head.
Hot metal, Fire and sharp heavy objects all demand/deserve respect. :!:

Once again Welcome and Good Luck!

JWB

castle7,