I Forge Iron

Total Newb looking for advice

kiltedpiper

Greetings all,

I am an upstart red/blacksmith and I am working putting together a masonry forge. I'm going to have a brake drum made from cast iron as my firepot. My plan is to set said firepot into concrete or at the very least make it removeable for later.

My main question on this is as follows. since the bottom of the brake drum is about 1/4" thick, will I need to weld on a plate to the bottom of it to reinforce the metal? I do not wish to have it melt while I'm using either coal or coke in the process.

Any constructive advice would be appreciated. (I know, I know...brake drum forges are the spawn of khaos but it was what I could afford)

firepot.jpg

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.

I'm sure that you are aware of the drawbacks of brake drum forges regarding depth and difficulty in using longer work pieces and how to mitigate that issue.  However, your statement about setting it in concrete gave me pause for two reasons. One, eventually the metal of the firepot will erode and it will need to be replaced.  It may be years down the road but if it is "glued" down to the concrete it will be a very serious hassle to replace.  Two, and maybe this partially mitigates my first concern, will the heat transmitted through the brake drum degrade the concrete behind it to the point that it breaks down structurally?  You might want to back it up with something more heat resistant like fire brick.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."