I Forge Iron

I'm completely new to blacksmithing (and this forum) and have a few questions...

Ri-Guy

So I just recently bought a Mr. Volcano Hero single burner forge, and I'm still not sure what I'm doing, so I have a list of a few questions I have: 

• I don't have access to tongs yet, so what can I use instead? 
  • Is rebar good for anything? I seem to see a lot of mixed opinions on it, and I have a lot of it just laying around.
  • How do I tell the carbon content in steel?
  • Is high grade stainless steel workable? I have a whole bunch of flatbar, ranging from 1/16" to 1/4" thickness. 
  • Does it matter what hammers I use? 
  • I recently found a hammer head at my mentor's shop and he let me keep it, I'm just not sure what it is (or if I could use it for blacksmithing) I drew a CS of the head and attached the file, so hopefully it'll work.

Thank you for taking your time to read and help me, I'm very excited to start my journey in the world of smithing.

Mystery Hammer.png

Welcome from the Ozark mountains.

It will be easier to Id the hammer head with a picture or two. You will find we love pictures, just resize them so the forum will upload them. Just about any hammer will do, I started out using a ball peen and my grandfathers cross peen. After 30+ years and a collection of about 50 different hammers I still use those 2 the most.

I have made a lot of stuff from rebar but unless it's real old rebar the consistency of the steel in any given rod can vary quite a bit. So most of the items are made into s hooks, bottle openers, tent stakes, etc. Also it's useful to weld on to other stock as a handle in lieu of using a pair of tongs. To tell the carbon content of steel, a spark test will get close, there are posts about that.

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.