I Forge Iron

How do I get started

metal99

hey everyone im new to the whole knife making thing. I have played around with iron before but the knives I made were only for show I really want to learn the right way to make them so that they will be useful. I spent a few hours checking out some ken onion knives today and fell in love with the layered steel. I just want to try to make someting really small to start with and was just wondering if I could use a torch to heat the metal up? Or should I make a small forge?
Thanks

Julius

Hi Julius, & welcome to IFI.

May I suggest you edit your profile to show where you are, as there may well be someone close to you who's willing to help, and it'll help us to suggest local resources.

Second, make sure you don't overlook the sections on bladesmithing here, there are some hugely respected names who are members here & may help.

Third, join the forums on Don Fogg's site and British Blades. Both places have an incredible wealth of information & also very many people who are willing to offer advice & assistance.

And to answer your questions - depending on the size of steel, you may find you can get it hot enough with a torch. But a small forge would keep the heat in & make it all a LOT more efficient & easier. A one-brick or baked bean tin forge will do fine with a small torch for pocket knife sized projects for e.g.

To make pattern welded steel ,which I think is what you fell in love with, is simpler than it may seem, but like so many things is also harder than one feels it aught to be to get it right every time! :) You'll need to get the metal up to forge welding temperature to stand any chance.