I Forge Iron

I have been forging for over 30 years now, and started out making knives, though I kind of got away from making knives as time has gone by. Most of my knives were forged to shape and finished with file/ sandpaper. I didn’t have a grinder that was really suitable and thus never got the grinding bit down. Eventually I did add, not one, but several belt grinders to my ever expanding arsenal of tools.  Some years ago I mentioned my clumsiness at grinding to one of the smiths visiting my shop and was informed that Gil Hibben was right down the road and he could show me a few things. I called and got myself invited over, and got the tour. I explained that grinding was giving me issues. He excited took me into his grinding room, picked up a Barr of steel, switched on the grinder and in a few seconds had a finished blade. His approach was so quick and casual, it was obvious that he had done this thousands- millions of times. The unfortunate part is, it is hard to really pick up the nuances of a skill that is purely built on thousands of hours (many decades in Gil’s case) looking at schools offering knifemaking classes I see a lot of offerings on blade smithing but not on grinding. Are there any of the schools that offer classes in grinding? I suppose I just need to order another case of belts, put some music on, sit in front of the grinder and fight with it until it feels comfortable. I can’t help thinking that one of the more experienced stock removal folks could throw out some good advice that I may not come up with on my own.