I Forge Iron

Critique my grain

Hi all, I am very new to actually smithing but have been lurking here for the past few years. I finally got a forge and some 1095 (I have since sourced some 1084 that may be more forgiving) and took the plunge. I have forged a piece of 1/8" 1095 into more or less a blade shape and did a rudimentary quench in water (I do know oil is preferred, but I was really just experimenting). I promptly broke my blade about 10-15 seconds out of the quench trying to fix a slight warp. I had planned to test to destruction anyhow, so I'm not heart broken. I would however like to take the opportunity to learn about my grain. This was not normalized, the quench was done at only slightly above non-magnetic (much cooler a color than I expected), and it never made it to a tempering process. I have read quite a bit about grain but most of the photos on this and other sites that explained grain have been lost to time. To that end, please critique my grain...

The tip section

https://photos.app.goo.gl/6Wf4R62N7GvAYAGZ6

The rest of the blade

https://photos.app.goo.gl/eWPXzhV4PYNV1aV49

The "whole" (I guess not anymore) blade

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ZQrp88865vVf52eV6

Thanks,

Jared

11 minutes ago, jmhallrn said:

(I do know oil is preferred, but I was really just experimenting)

The experiment was a success Jared, now you know why an oil quench is preferred.

You've got some grain growth, more than will survive a water quench for sure. Part 2 of the experiment explains why normalizing shouldn't be skipped. No?

I'm playing with you a little here but you put quite a bit of time into a blade then goofed off on the most critical part of the process. You deserve a verbal raspberry.

In all honesty Jared, why should a knowledgeable bladesmith (which I'm not) evaluate the grain in a blade you knowingly heat treated incorrectly? You didn't expect a smooth refined grain did you?

Frosty The Lucky.

Good Mourning,