I Forge Iron

It just occured to me (info for the beginning smith)

I'm a very new smith. Well, a total noob anyway, the "smith" part is still up for debate.  I joined this forum a couple of years ago after I'd built my first forge.  I started in this mess with the grandiose Idea of making the perfect blades. And ended up making all kinds of things other than blades. I dunno, but I think I have about $100 total tied up in my smithy. No, I take that back, I bought a Champion blower for about $125, so $225 tied up. hammers were dirt cheap to free, tongs I made, Forge, I made. (3 of them) Anvil, I made from scrap steel, Post vise, made from scrap steel, and lead screw from McMaster Carr for about $10.  It would seem that every time I get ready to make something that I haven't made before, I need to start by making the tools to get it done.  I have a holdfast consisting of a bicycle chain, and 15 pound window weight. My punches, and drifts are made from salvaged springs, and jack hammer bits.  I have made various tools for the hardy hole, in order to allow me to do certian tasks.

I've learned a lot in the past couple of years, and burned a lot of coal.  I still have a lot to learn.  Welding seems to work sometimes, but most time not, (I say phase of moon).  I've managed to forge many useful items, which have been installed around the house, and are used regularly.  Thumb latches, hinges, and hooks, are most used. Bottle openers run a close second. (Not counting the tools for forging)