I Forge Iron

Making foot pedal blower electric

Jobtiel1

Hi All,

For a while, I've been wanting to upgrade to an electric blower for my forge, but so far I have not found any affordable second hand options. Now I had a thought that I could use a variable speed electromotor to power the cast iron blower I currently use with a food pedal:

IMG_20201122_140555__01__01.thumb.jpg.b1d5bd598db84e0c50c295d279874980.jpg

After looking at some motors online, I found one that is pretty cheap, but I have doubts as to its suitability, as I have little to no experience with motors.

Screenshot_20210713-113953__01.thumb.jpg.d7205a82f8868ea5eee04cc4d51ca920.jpg

Screenshot_20210713-114000__01.thumb.jpg.3f596549307aa91ab404fb2d8479b3b0.jpg

This motor would have an rpm of 70 and a torque of 5 N.m. would this be suitable for use as motor for a forge blower, and if not, what RPM's and Torques should I be looking for? The cast iron blower has no internal gears so the rpm supplied is not multiplied by the blower itself.

Thanks for your thoughts.

~Jobtiel

Interesting question. I would start by calculating the current range of speeds you’re getting with your foot-powered blower and then figuring out if the motor would be able to duplicate (or even extend) that range. 

Remember that low speed is important as high speed. You don’t want the lowest speed to be pumping in more air that you need for a gentle fire. 

I checked this afternoon, and 70 rpm is about the rpm I spin on the big wheel, so that rpm is not suitable if I want to connect directly to the blower. Now if this motor has enough torque to spin the big wheel, I might get it. 

Time to do some more research on this.

~Jobtiel