I Forge Iron

BTU Requirements

TwitchyReaper

Hello,

I am quite new to the blacksmithing and even newer to the forums.  I am really hoping I am not violating any of the Read First Rules.  I tried multiple searches first and wasn't having a whole lot of luck.  I was hoping to take the time to peruse the site much more and hopefully find the answer in the vast amounts of threads and knowledge in here, but my hand has been forced needing an answer so I figured I'd ask the question.  

My father and I recently got into blacksmithing after his retirement and my moving our family down to the Iowa area to be near him.  We have decided that we are going to build our own forge, (of which I believe I will be spending a lot of time in the Forge section figuring that process out).  The immediate problem I am having is that we have somehow convinced the local natural gas company to run a complete separate line and meter to our garage to supply natural gas to our garage.  But before they begin the install they need the BTU requirements of the equipment we will have in there.  Originally we were thinking about just purchasing a premade forge, but after reading a plethora of threads on here advising against that and just building our own we thought it would be better to follow that advice.  

At the current time they are able to provide us with 250,000 BTU's at the tap on the side of the garage, but we are able to go up to 500,000 if necessary.  But I have to give them a basic parameter of what we will need before they finalize the install.  That is where I am hoping to find some assistance on here to help me come up with that answer.  

Again, I apologize if this question is out of place, and I truly have been reading and learning as much from this forum as I can.  I thank anyone that is able to help and please if this question is not specific enough let me know and I will clarify in any way I can.  Thank you.

Regards,

J. Death

Welcome aboard, glad to have you.