I Forge Iron

How much to charge

Hello I'm looking for some opinions on what I should be charging for my creations I've been making knives for a few months and have decided to try and start selling some but have no idea what to charge for a rookie level knife. I uploaded a few pictures of some of my work some complete others in progress

IMG_1582909120694.jpg

20191122_165050.jpg

Snapchat-1202122945.jpg

FB_IMG_1576077092210.jpg

20200229_125910.jpg

Well, this is harsh; but I don't consider RR spikes a suitable alloy to make knives from; so I would not want folks to associate them with my name. I use them only for ornamental work.  Perhaps use them for a "garden knife"...

Also a lot of the price of an item depends on the "fit and finish" and so they need to be finished to give an estimate.

Most folks start out fairly rough and so that's an excellent time to use such blades for testing to see how your forging and heat treating are working out.  It's really hard to tell people starting out they should break their first knives until they get consistent grain size and toughness. It's also why I suggest people start out with an automotive coil spring: Cut along a diameter and get a dozen+  "("  pieces all of the same alloy and make them all into small knives that you can experiment with your heat treat until you get it down pat for that alloy. (It's also generally a good alloy for knives, especially larger ones---where you have to go with leaf springs to get the mass needed.)

Cross-post with Thomas.