I Forge Iron

Caster wheels on my anvil base

Hello  i am new to this forum and have a dim question...i am a new blacksmith rookie and was lucky enough to come across a 200# anvil sitting on a 100# iron base.  i put 4 caster wheels on the bottom of the base to move it around my shop.  each wheel has a small rubber surface area around the rim.  Is this a no no and potentially "deadening" the impact of the hammer blows?

Thank you for your advice...

The anvil stand I was using up till this weekend was constructed of a large (20" diameter) hardwood stump placed on a custom 3 wheel dolly.  Two of the wheels were rather heavy steel on a simple 3/4" steel shaft.  The front support was a heavy duty rotating double steel caster that had enough friction to "lock in place".  My anvil was around 125# and this worked just fine for me. 

I think the 100# stand you have will add enough inertia to address most of you efficiency concerns for vertical hammer blows.  However if you ever use your anvil for any other type of work (upsetting off the far edge, tapering using the horn or anvil edges, opening up a v-groove...) you may find the anvil moving under you around the floor.  I would consider using the casters to move the anvil to locations desired, then rigging a system to lift the stand and chock the wheels up off the floor in use.  I would also be concerned about the rubber wheels getting damaged in a shop with a lot of hot steel flying around.

The wheels are a good way to maximise your floor space. Rubber will eventually wear out, get damaged or burned, but that does not mean it is a bad idea. You will be the judge of that.