I Forge Iron

does a letter opener qualify?

bluerooster

I am a very noob to forging.  I've only actually made one useful item, tongs, which I'd not set out to make. I was just heating and hammering on a length of rebar, simply to learn how to swing a hammer, not intending to make anything at all, but just to move hot metal. That rebar turned into ugly but functional tongs. (even a blind dog can find a bone once in a while) Well, next time i fired the forge, I decided to see how a bearing race would behave. It was an outer race for a large ball bearing. I cut it in half, and tossed it in the fire.  I set about the task of flattening it out, which, if you can imagine what a ball bearing race looks like,  made a nice curve. As I flattened the thick part, It in effect drew it out on that side, and made a nice curve.  Many heats, and much hammering, I ended up with a straight (ish) piece of steel about 8" long, and mabe 3/16" thick.  I didn't want it to be that long, or that thin, so I folded it in half, and re-heated it, sprinkled som borax on it, and stuck it back in the fire. Durn near burned it, getting it hot, brought it out and gave it a few licks, then re-heat, and a few licks on the other end. disgusted with it, I threw it back in the dying forge, and walked away.  I was out of charcoal anyway.   After a week or so, I  set about seeing what I'd done to it. It was a bit rough around the edges, with de-lamination, but appeared to be stuck together in the middle. So, I heated it up, and drew it out to about 6" long x about an inch wide. Got it to a good red temperature, fully soaked, and dunked it into a bucket of water.  I figure that would make it brittle. It sure did!  I clamped it in the vise and snapped it off about mid way.  Looking at the "end grain" (carpenter here) I could see what had stuck, and what had not.  I took one half, and welded a handle on it, By setting up my forge better, better layer of charcoal, less air, and much drawing and folding, I fig