I Forge Iron

Help with Forge

Dalton.Rogers

Hey all! So, I'm relatively new to this whole blacksmithing thing. My local group gave me an old coal forge to use for a bit. However I'm looking into getting a propane forge because it is much easier to find fuel and my neighbors don't like the coal smell. Anyways, ive been doing research on forges and such. But i need help. Im a highschool student without a whole lot of access to tools, but I've got a stable job and willing to put money into something I am interested in.  I know the “Devil’s Forge” have mixed reviews on here from what I've seen but, wanted to bring it up again. The company has started including rigidizer with the forges and offer free shipping on ebay. Is there anyone that has personal experience with the forges? Specifically looking at the double burner with a door. 

Their reviews are mixed, for one of the same reasons that much m,ore expensive forges often are; They aren't really to be considered as turn-key. You would do well to buy a minor amount of fumed silica, and rigidize their ceramic wool before use. Dump the stuff they call rigidizer, and buy inexpensive Plistix as a hot face finish coating. You would also be better off to ditch the half-brick it uses as a floor, and buy a small bag of Kast-O-lite 30 to cast a floor from instead; look for there products at the top of the forum page.

Also, Devil Forges are imports, which means that there is no dependable quality control on their regulators and hoses; the parts may be good, or not so good; they will exchange regulators if you have a problem with it. The hoses are easily replaced.

However, the forge and its burner is well enough constructed. If you only buy the single burner forge, you WILL get much more than your money's worth. There you go, with this is the bald faced truth; like it or don't.

I have been inventing and building gas forges for twenty years, and would consider buying a single burner Devil Forge, just for fun.