I Forge Iron

Purchased propane forge

Tanto82

I bought this forge and set it up. Once I put gas to it this was the result. I wanted to as if anyone could tell me if this looks right. Thanks in advance, I am new to this and don't want to waste materials.  Also could someone explain the guage to me. Thanks again

KIMG1830.JPG

KIMG1832.JPG

KIMG1831.JPG

I don't use a has forge but that definitely doesn't look right. Someone with more experience should be along to help you soon.

As far as the guage I can't really tell for sure sinceI'm using my phone but I think it is showing bars or atmospheres. You may want to get a different guage that shows PSI. Also I think there should be a needle valve along with the ball valve. 

Did you rigidize the kaowool before using? It's a respiratory hazard. All the info is in the stickies of the gas forge section.You'll also need a castable refractory as a hot face to protect the fiber insulation. You should read the stickies they'll let you know what you need.

Pnut (Mike)

Heck no, that isn't right.  You need to open up the air inlet shroud to get air into your mixing chamber.  Plenty of illustrations in the Burners 101 thread on what an acceptable flame from a NA burner should look like.  Yours is starved for air.

The gauge appears to have two scales PSI and the equivalent metric pressure gauge in BAR.  In your photo you appear to be set at approximately 19 PSI (read on the inner, gray ring).  The metric equivalent is 1.3 bar (outer colored ring).  You should be adjusting the pressure with the knob on the regulator (the device near the gauge) not the isolation ball valve.  The latter should be either open or closed (yours is cocked about 1/2 open).  Typically I startup burners like that at lower pressure (say around 5 psi), then increase the pressure after the forge has a chance to warm up.