I Forge Iron

can I weld this

Bean07

G,day all maybe a straight forward question hopefully  A brake drum is it cast steel, because work is a week off as I could get heavy bore pipe as my coal fired pot or get the drum today if it is welder-able with my mig/argon mixture, if cast iron I can just get a small pack of castcraft electrodes, thanks in advance for a reply.

I have, several times, MIG welded (with co2/argon gas mix) 2" black pipe to brake "rotors" to make forge pots with success. None have cracked or separated in years of use. I made one pass then a second heavier pass. That all is if I understand your question correctly. 

Thanks guys, as I said I only have a week off before I go back, I do appreciate both reply's, but im like a bull when it comes to getting stuff done so ive just got back after buying a 200mm x 12mm flat bar that im fabricating into a fire pit, might aswell go down that path as it,s what I do for a living, I recently bought a 250 amp Lincoln welder  im super impressed with, It is way better than the 350 amp three faze ( 8 month old) machine I use where im employed.

The firebox base plate is a dummy only till I got feedback from Irondragon Forge & Clay he did and said I would be better with up to 9mm slots in the firebox base,just to cover myself im asking all for the correct info before I commit as I do more, im also putting a pivoted quick release door at the rear as suggested for longer stock.

49411163_10219294659184393_7952746996450721792_o.jpg

Looks good to me. I'd put stretchers between the legs at a convenient height for a shelf. They'll make it more stable and a below the forge shelf for hot work and tools to air cool is handy. A pair of hips (angle braces) at 90* to each other will prevent wobble. I put the hips on the back side so they're less in the way.