I Forge Iron

Noob with lining questions

tardster

Hello everyone, I'm very new to all of this so please bear with me. Before I go to far I did use the search function but to be honest I'm quite confused on the proper way to line my forge I'm building. Are there 3 diff layers of the lining, the wool/blanket, rigidizer and then refractory cement or do you just need 2 of them such as the wool/blanket and a rigidizer or the refractory cement? Im building my forge out of a old portable 11 gallon air tank that has been cut down to 12 inches long and in the middle at the widest part its 12 inches across. I figured that would be big enough for me to learn with and honestly I have no intentions of making swords or anything the long. How thick should the wool/blanket be, there is 1 inch and 2 inch? My plan was to line the inside of the forge with either 1 or 2 inch wool/blanket ( I was leaning towards the 2 inch wool/blanket, just sounded safer to me but I could be wrong) and at the bottom us a fire brick for the floor area. I am also planning on using 1 burner for it since this is my first forge and my plans are just for the part time to see what I can do with it. And finally is it better to have the burner straight up and down or on an angle? Thanks in advance Ed...

Irondragon, I did read the "read first" thread and I searched for about 4 hours reading different threads but as I said it confused me even more. I will just go with the 2 inches of wool/blanket and use the refractory cement over it to start and see how it goes from there.

The search function of the forum leaves a lot to be desired. In the thread I linked it shows how to get results by using your favorite search engine like google and adding "iforgeiron" to the search term.