I Forge Iron

Weld hardening

Glenn- while I am no expert on stick welding, I have always allowed welds to cool at their own pace. With the shock of any quick cooling, there is usually a risk of weld embrittlement- especially at the margins. But, I recall that the issue is less crucial when you are talking of removing the slag from such a weld. A quick heat-up with a torch and natural cooling will stress relieve the weld in most cases. When tigging chrome-moly(4130) chassis welds, I would mark with Tempilaq and bring the joint to kickover-then allowed ambient cooling. The need for all of that is dictated by critical use.jet

The slag has little insulating ability. It is there simply to prevent the molten metal from taking on harmful gases from the atmosphere so by the time you stop and chip, it has already done its job. Better to preheat the weldment if chill hardening is an issue.

Preheat/postheat the mass has other benefits as well as heat is pulled away from the weld by the surrounding steel *much* faster than by the surrounding air.

To be really sure you should cut the weld area out from the surround steel and let it cool slowly---then you can weld it back in, grin...

This is an issue in blacksmithing/bladesmithing as well when people find to their dismay that a nice cold vise or anvil can "quench" a hot high carbon piece with nary a visit to the oil or water bucket!

In general this isn't really an issue when welding mild steel. The base metal, nor the filler metal have enough carbon to harden appreciably.

The slag does chip off much more easily after the weld has cooled though. The weld shrinks as it cools, and the slag doesn't. With a good weld and a rod like a 6013, 7018, or 7014 the slag will curl up like a scorpions tail and fall off by itself as the weld cools.