I Forge Iron

T burner flare questions

Dunbear

My take on a Frosty T burner. 

• I've been reading everything I can on this forum but its my first time building a forge so please bring me up to speed if I'm off on something. I've built a T burner following Frosty's method, had to make some minor changes on how the mig tip is mounted  due to lack of available hardware in my area. The problem I'm running into is when I use a thread protector on the end of my burner as frosty suggests I cant keep the thing burning (not slowing down the gas enough?) but when I put on a bell reducer it works without a hitch. This brings me to my question of what to do with the flare end inside of the actual forge? Will the issues I'm having with the thread protector be negated by having the burner in the actual forge environment/making a bell from the ceramic wool/kast-o-lite or should I increase the size of the hole in my forge wall to accommodate the larger bell reducer that I know will produce a good flame? Any insight into the area where the burners enter the forge would be greatly appreciated. I'm hoping to get a solid plan together before I start putting in my wool/refractory materials. 1101180933.thumb.jpg.74bdb4f7a4ce559b419322c62d8be643.jpg
  • 0.035 mig tip, 6" pipe nipple, 1x3/4 T joint, 3/4"x1 1/4 bell reducer 
  •  
  • 1101180934.thumb.jpg.a8b3afceaaba2cf7e1e2fd1f48ab7847.jpg1101180935.thumb.jpg.b399f786443f31cf49224325d0618ae2.jpg

The burner will almost certainly behave differently inside the forge.  Without seeing a flame in either configuration it's difficult to tell if it's tuned somewhere near right outside the forge.  Regardless, it's best to tune the burner in the environment it will be used.