I Forge Iron

Mikey style 3/4 inch burner built

mariom2

Hi Mikey and everyone at IFI,

I am new to blacksmithing and first time posting.  Would like to have a gas forge to start with and begin learning. I live in Ecuador and all refractory materials you use on the forges are difficult to get and will have to use what is available.

First thing I need is the burner, but with so much information on the internet, I did not know where to start so I bought your book from Amazon and decided to make one of your burners, trying to save time and guessing using your experience.

The burner is the ¾ inch and it was made as close as possible to the book measurements and description.

Once the burner was ready it was time to tune it and here I might need some help.

Here some pictures of the burner and the flame at 8 psi with a 0.035 mig tip. Accelerator tip ¼ inch from the fully open choke, choke fully open. Straight nozzle with 1 inch overhand.   

I would like your opinion.  Is the flame good enough or it could be improved?  These pictures are difficult to take.

Many experienced people here on IFI any comments are welcome.

Sorry if my English is a bit poor.

Mario

IMG_1615.JPG

IMG_1616.JPG

IMG_1618.JPG

IMG_1626.JPG

IMG_1627.JPG

IMG_1628.JPG

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The flame is not anywhere near good enough. Fortunately you only have a series of small changes needed to bring the flame up from unacceptable to perfect. If you will bear with us here at IFI, we can help you reach your goals, so let's begin with the needed burner changes before looking into what you can do about building your forge:

(1) The book's construction chapters start with a 1/2" burner size and then go on to the 3/4".  But the why of building design, and the how of tuning are laid down in that first burner's chapter it is easy to miss the information that keeps you on track, if you don't read that chapter.