I Forge Iron

Makers Mark Triangle with the letter C??

The upsidedown triangle has the letter C inside of it. Anyone  have some info ??  weight is 233#, Face in good condition.  Is this anvil forged, with a hardened plate on top?  Is it soild all the way thru??

TY  for the response guys.  I am new to this game, and would like to buy a quality anvil at a fair price.  The face looks to be in good condition. Very small  limited chips on the edges.  The seller is asking 4$ per pound.  From my reasearch that is a fair price.  Cant find a new 200# er for near that cost.

Where would I find a 1/2'' to 1'' ball bearing to do a rebound test?

Anything I should check for when I go to view it?

Can't discuss the cost without knowing location---Singapore dollars?  Canadian Dollars? Australian Dollars, American Dollars?  All different.

I think that's HIGH if American dollars and would have to know the location, condition, style---Columbian did some double horned anvils for instance, weight, etc

Not know which of the 100+ countries participating on this forum on the World Wide Web all I can say is you can get large ball bearing other thataway. (however in the USA I'd suggest asking heavy equipment repair places, implement dealers, mechanics---especially truck mechanics)

BTW did you read the thread on improvised anvils?   there has been over 2000 years of blacksmiths smithing on things that don't look like a London Pattern Anvil and only about 200 years with them using London Pattern anvils in a fairly small subset of the world.  Far better to buy a chunk of steel from the scrapyard to forge on and spend the $100's on a good postvise and tongs.

7 minutes ago, ThomasPowers said:

Can't discuss the cost without knowing location---Singapore dollars?  Canadian Dollars? Australian Dollars, American Dollars?  All different.