I Forge Iron

**Need advice with Knife Making**

Tom Lumpkins

Hi I am new to the site and trying to learn to make knifes, I saw a video on YouTube and did a little surfing on the web, and have made several blades the first one I made is so hard and brittle that you can't get a edge on it, It won't get sharp.
from what I understand you heat the blade up till its red hot then let it cool, Then after it cools you cut and shape the blade the way you want it. then heat it and quench the blade. to harden it , and I think your supposed to heat it again But not sure why you would heat it again.
I sure would be grateful if some of you all would let me pick your brain and help me with the procedures for making a knife . I'm a OTR Truck driver and don't have a whole lot of time off, But would love to make a few knifes and also want to make stuff outta metal, I just built me a forge and got a Anvil last weekend .
For about the last five years fishing has been my favorite thing to do when I was off, and don't get me wrong I still like to get out there on the Cumberland River and do battle with a big Catfish, But life is short and I ain't getting no younger and if I'm ever going to learn anything about making knifes and stuff outta metal I got to get at it. You all have a good evening...Tom

The first time you heat and quench, It hardens the steel. As you have found, this is too hard and now needs to be tempered. This is a process of re heating without quenching to soften it just a little so its not brittle, but tough. Entire books are devoted to this subject and I'm sure others that know more about it than I do will give their input, but check out the Blueprint pages also. I know there is at least one BP on heat treating. The main thing is that heat treating is usually not just one step. First you harden, then you temper. Hope this helps :)