I Forge Iron

Bevel Jig?

Anyone got any ideas for this? This is going to be done a bench grinder (not a belt) since my belt one is only 1/3hp, and my bench grinder is 2hp...

And since I'm new at this, is this a bad plan to go about making this?
1. Forge to general shape
2. Hit blank with grinder to remove scale
3. File till flat
4. Use grinder to put in bevels
5. Use belt grinder to get rid of grind marks
6. Harden and temper.
7. Remove scale
8. Buff
9. Sharpen

I realize that some people forge in bevels, but as a beginner, that seems to be leaving to much to chance for me, but I will try this later. I figure also that some people put the bevels in by hand, but I haven't developed the proper hand eye coordination for this yet.

I think you will be better off to just file the bevels in. You will have a lot more control and a lot less mess to clean up when you're done. A bench grinder is a useful tool, but it is generally for coarse work. The files will teach you patience, very theraputic, and they leave a really nice finish. You can get files that vary in their aggressiveness; start with coarse and work to fine. Then you can go straight to sanding / polishing.

Also, you will want a pretty decent finish on the blade before you harden; perhaps 220 grit, maybe 400. Any deep scratches are problems waiting to happen, plus they are going to be that much harder to get out after the steel is hard.

After you harden, you will want to polish it up again before you temper. Clean steel is just easier to manage.

And don't forget to normalize before you harden.

Good luck,

Don