I Forge Iron

Serviceable Brick Forced Air Forge

clenceo

Hello All!!

Finished up my forge a few days ago. My idea was to create a simple forced air forge that can be broken down, easily serviceable and that can be easily duplicated if needed, and maybe manipulated for different types of materials I may be adding into it. 

Some things that I was able to do at my place of employment was TIG weld some stainless steel nozzles. Although I'm no expert in welding, I have been allowed full access to weld since apparently I have a steady hand. You will see my first attempts to TIG weld stainless steel below. I hope my photos are self explanatory, but if you do have questions....Please ask. I'll do my best to answer any questions. I also numbered the pictures in order....for some reason the file host does not organize them in order.

I'm learning here, so please do not take offense if I can not offer a reasonable explanation. 

https://clenceo.imgbb.com/?list=images&sort=date_asc&page=1&params_hidden[userid]=kbD&params_hidden[from]=user

Lots of folks have been down that road, tho your vesian is nicer than most. Hard fire brick I has an r value of about 2 and wile exelent for throwing together quick forge for od shapes and testing burners, the fuel costs will eat you alive. Soft brick is a beter choice, tho most will crack in short order do to thermal cycling. looks like that's what you used for the top. Jerry has 4 burner reconfigurable he uses.

Hard fire brick is R 2, Charles? I thought it was barely over R 1. Different brand or grade I guess. I know you can buy 2,600 f insulating fire brick but it's more than 2x the cost of standard soft brick.