I Forge Iron

Buffalo, NY Blacksmiths

I'm new to blacksmithing and I'm learning as I go. I was wondering if there are any blacksmiths in the Buffalo, NY area that would be interested in meeting up. I see a lot of people interested in obtaining anvils on craigslist, but I don't know if that means they are into it, or if they are just into "antiques" and flipping craigslist items. I have a small, charcoal forge that I made in my backyard and a nice little anvil I've been using. What I need now is some like-minded people to talk to about this wonderful new hobby and get some tips for being a better blacksmith.

Joe

Yeah, I think you might luck out on that one Joe I seem to recall a few New Yorkers around here somewhere. I recon one will speak up eventually and tip you to the others.

Hey, Theo?

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks Frosty! I did a little digging online and found out that Buffalo has a chapter of the New York State Designer Blacksmiths organization. I reached out to them and got some info. I am planning on going to their July 9th meeting. 

Thanks again!

Joe

Yes, Buffalo has an active chapter of the NYSDB (Niagara region).  There are quite a few talented smiths in that group with plenty to teach.  

Unfortunately Theo, in Brooklyn if I recall correctly, is a good 7 hr drive away.  New York may not be as large as Alaska Frosty, but it is no Rhode Island either...

• 1 year later...

Yea, I’m a starting Smith here in Holland NY, I have the stuff needed to start a forge. But I’m waiting to put up a “shed” to work in as my smithy. I’d like to learn the proper technique at the anvil before I start at my own. Just talking with other Smith’s would be a learning experience 

Welcome aboard Nathan, glad to have you. You can start talking by putting your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance. Just saying where you live in one post isn't going to stick in anybody's memory once they open another post.