I Forge Iron

Burner question

Moose5124

Ok gentlemen, I'm new to the site and to forging itself, I'm a welder but looking to step it up in the fabrication world. This will generally be a hobby forge with the possibility of making small custom pieces for other welding projects. My first forge build is going to be somewhat experimental because there wasn't much material easily available. To start I used some fire brick and coated it all around with 3000*f refractory cement also used to join the bricks together to make my fire box. Can't say how it will hold up most importantly to me is getting the burners installed correctly there seems to be a lot of information regarding burner size, quantity, and design. If it doesn't get hot enough...not a big deal what I don't want is to have a dangerous setup but something I can learn on and study the design.

So back to my fire box which will be wrapped and an 1/8" steel box (leftover sheet) witha hinged door and a slider window so I can't adjust ventilation. The box measures 4-1/2" x 4-1/2" x 9" deep. If my math is correct its about 182 cubic inches. My first thought was obviously an efficient and effective burner setup. The question is 1 burner or 2 and what size. I can obtain and adapt any fitting together no problem but looking for recommendations from someone with the knowledge and experience. 

Ill post some pictures of what I have together and what iaccomplish today thanks in advance to anyone taking the time to help a rookie, looking forward to hammering some hot steel

Not actually sure on the fire brick specs but hoping the refractory cement with do the truck, if the cement and or brick break down no big deal I will order up some kaowool and recommended refractory to coat it with. I will look in to the burner design and 1/2" is what I was thinking