I Forge Iron

My First Time...

Well, I went to my first Hammer-In on Saturday, where I joined the Western Reserve Artist's Blacksmithing Association. Well, this was the first time I'd ever put hammer to steel, and I loved it! All of the members that showed up were excited that they had a 'young-blood' in the group (I'm 21, and the next youngest member is in their late forties, I think). This Hammer-In was at the shop of one of the members-- he is a full-time fabricator / welder, so his shop was massive. The group is based in Burton, Ohio, in their Century Village (a restored village), and they had taken on the job of replacing the stair railings for the church, and making them look authentic to the period.

Being the absolute beginner I am, I wasn't allowed to do any of the heavy work, but what they did allow me to do was heat up all the metal they used (with a portable gas forge someone brought to the shop) and bang out the corners of the square stock a bit, since perfectly-shaped stock wasn't really authentic. Depending on which bar I was dinging up, I alternated between a 4-pound sledge and a 2.5-pound diagonal peen hammer. I think 2.5- or 3- pound is my good hammer size, judging from how it felt to me, and how accurate I was.

Needless to say, it was a great experience, and now I can say for sure that I'm definitely interested in continuing this hobby, and hopefully in the future making contributions to the forums as I learn. Once I get past the 'Absolute Beginner' stages into 'Novice', I'll definitely be there to cheer on the (slightly) newer folks.

As it stands, I still have no tools and no equipment, but I've definitely got a fire under my bum now... planning to go scour scrapyards in the coming days and hopefully buy the materials for a 55 Forge.

Attached is a photo of my membership card, because I'm just that proud to have taken the first step. :)

PS- I am sorry if this isn't the proper forum for this, but it seemed the most appropriate.

WRABA_Card.jpg