I Forge Iron

Side blast forge tuyere nozzle size?

habu68

I'm almost finished with my demo cart, and I have no experience with the side blast forge operation. My question is what is a typical opening size for tuyere nozzle. I am using a 36 in diameter great bellows that seems to have a plenty (maybe too much) blast with a 1 1/4 in black pipe. I am not using a water cooled tuyere at this point but i have left space in my design to attach one at a later date. The forge cart will be used demos only and it will be unlikely that it will be used for material over 3/4 in square.

Any other hints or observations on the side blast forge are gladly accepted
Untitled.jpg
trail fit of demo cart project - Blacksmith Photo Gallery

I used one for a couple of years and went back to a bottom draft forge ... I found the side draft took too much playing with the fire ..It was my portable forge with bellows similar to what you have built .I used a 3/4 pipe but your 1 inch should work fine .The secret is use lots of coal and make a big mound ( I tend to run small fires) Good luck !

Bruce Wilcock may respond on this as I believe he has commented in the past. 3/4 is often mentioned for general work in British texts - 1" should not be too big.

PS - I like your sig line, are/were you a plastic molder?

My younger brother is a Tool and die maker and owns a small molding company (up to 350 tons), I helped out at the plant for a couple of years while he was getting up and running. he just recently closed his plant to go to work for one of his customers, and is currently working on the mold design for the 4th generation I-phone. He has done all right for a kid that flunked out of high school and went to work clipping parts at a plastics plant. An example of a couple of his customers:
KONG Pet Toys - Legendary Strength, Quality, and Performance One of his first mold designs as an apprentice tool maker