I Forge Iron

New Bladesmith from LI NY

NFLIFe

Hello everyone,

Beginner knife maker/blacksmith here posting from the last remaining bit of "rural" long island, NY.

I'm an Air Force veteran, and currently a ditch digger by day... But by night, many other things. Recently, I've been getting into blade smithing.

Right now my setup involves a propane torch stuck in a metal cylinder, hammer, anvil, and an angle grinder for finishing.

These are my first three successful knives (I botched the heat treating on two others that didn't hold up to stress testing). All of them are made from old files or chisels, 90% sure they are w2 tool steel.

This first one I call my "grapplers knife." No real inspiration for this one, other than wanting a nice strong stabbing blade with a slight back curve to facilitate HEMA techniques that involve trapping wrists/limbs.

IMG_20161010_201247.jpg

This second one is sort of a seax/mini-machete/work knife, thick spine and grind, tough temper. My inspiration here was the  Anglo broken spine seax along with the kukri work knife (hence slight forward bend and balance) Doesn't take a sharp edge, but it withstands chopping/hacking like a blade twice it's size.

IMG_20161010_201333.jpg

Lastly, is the little gem I hammered out last night. The blade is roughly similar to the air force survival knife, but is much lighter and thinner. I made this one as sort of a joke gift for my girl, who has been very concerned about clown attacks.

IMG_20161025_065802.jpg

As you can see, all of my knives are a simple full tang, leather wrapped handle design, and all made out of found steel so far. In the future, I'd like to learn forge welding and make cable forged work and fighting knives with stacked leather military style grips... Of course I'm currently lacking the equipment, time, and knowledge to do so.

Enjoy,

-Josh