I Forge Iron

Alaska Blacksmithing groups

Hello

I am a newbie to the site and to the craft. After many years i have recently decided to quit day dreaming and procrastinating about blacksmithing and give it an honest try. I have secured a little 70 pound anvil and should hopfully have a forge in place by December. In the meantime i figure it would be wise to reach out and try and meet some other folks who also have interest and possibly experence blacksmithing. I enjoy carving and wood working, so i figure a good place to start would be to make my own chisels and gouges,work my way up to knifes, maybe an Axe one day.  If anybody can point me to local groups or indiviguals who dont mind giving a new guy a few pointers once in a while, i would deffinately appreciate it. I live in Kenai Alaska.

Thanks, and take care

Lonny

Hey Lonnie, good to hear from you. 

We have a fairly active group in Anchorage/Matsu area. I don't know of one down in the Kenai area. Maybe one of the smiths down there will pipe up and let us know otherwise. Would make me happy if they had one.

Our next meeting is November 12th in Anchorage. You are more than welcome to stop in if you can make it. There is some very helpful people in our group and I am sure you would come away with some good tips. We typically have a fire going so you can have some forge time as well.