I Forge Iron

Gas Forge Relining

Jim Keel

I am total beginner who is just starting off on my blacksmith journey and while I have decided to go with a propane gas forge, and have even narrowed it down to 3 I like best, I am a little confused when they talk about the relining kits and replacing the brick floor.  Can anyone give me an idea of how often that needs to be done and how extensive of a job it is? 

To clarify I am talking about pre-made gas forges and not one I built myself.  While I know I can build it cheaper for my first forge I would just prefer to put out the money and get one new. 

Thanks for your time. 

Welcome aboard Jim, glad to have you. I'll have to let someone who's relined a factory built forge answer you but you'll get a lot more useful replies if you're more specific. Narrowed it down to what 3? How long does the company website say relining the model forge you're at takes and costs?

Were it me I'd make a floor rather than use fire brick, they don't like welding fluxes. You may not plan on welding but you can never tell what might catch your fancy. I've never relined a factory made forge but I've made a few of my own. If you make your own don't do what just about everybody does and get carried away. Just large enough is about as good as it gets.

Frosty The Lucky.

1 hour ago, Mikey98118 said:

The floor is made of fire brick!?! A hefty price tag doesn't prevent the merchandise from being JUNK.

That was my mistake when typing the out.  It's actually a dense ceramic floor.  Sorry.

2 hours ago, Frosty said:

Welcome aboard Jim, glad to have you. I'll have to let someone who's relined a factory built forge answer you but you'll get a lot more useful replies if you're more specific. Narrowed it down to what 3? How long does the company website say relining the model forge you're at takes and costs?