I Forge Iron

half introduction half ID old sword

stifffingers

Hello fellows and ladysmith Ive tried to introduce myself a couple of times, due to glitches in my phone or the net several long winded intro's lost in cyberspace. So now you get a quickie then to The point. My name I Eric MacKay. I was an electrician in NYC for about 25 years, moved to New Mexico took forced retirement and floundered until I started trying to be a blacksmith (which I'm still trying to do).

Any way I don't want to lose this so Ill get to the point. I have a sword someone gave me. I haven't done anything with it and want to be sure of it's authenticity b4 I touch it and hurt its value or point of historical origin. I'm posting this to be followed with pictures and a little more facts about why I'm posting.

thanks stifffingers.

20150825_113047.jpg

Welcome aboard Eric, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header some of our other NM members might not hide. Lots of good guys down thataway.

I can't do more than venture a guess that's a brush chopper like a machete but don't know. It sure looks like a commercial make and that sir about exhausts my sword expertise.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks Latticino and frosty,. Part of the typing I lost before I said I had found a picture of a bayonet either German is Spanish with a similar handle but no swords. It's the reversed cutting edge and the way the tip is shaped that messed with my head. Hopefully we'll find someone who has seen this before or its a project went wild and just another costume piece someone put together and lost it until I got it.

we'll see so thanks for your time and attention. Cause I don't know and I'm guessing all along.

Eric

ala stifffingers

• 8 months later...