I Forge Iron

Investment form disintegrating

Hi,

I am a novice to casting. I made a nice 16gal propane fired smelter and am working with small volumes of aluminum.  I have been making silicone molds and trying to use lost wax to cast some aluminum.  The smelter, metal prep, and silicon molding and wax creation has been fine. I first tried a plaster of paris shell, which disintegrated. so I got some Ransom and Randolph Ultra-vest Maxx Investment and poured a solid form, suspending my wax in it. 

I first used a convection oven to melt out most of the wax with gravity into a can. Then I fired the form in the smelter, and within about 5-10 minutes it essentially crumbled? I can speculate on several points of failure, but was hoping folks could point me to a "duh" reason, to cut down on failed attempts.

1) I didn't let the form really dry before heating it

2) I am not using a burn out oven, don't have one... firing it in the smelter

3) I mixed the investment about 8:1 with sand  (investment:sand) to make up some volume 

I was hoping to do the investment / sand / investment / sand layering technique, the the investment powder I got seems to cure chemically within a really short time period.. so won't permit keeping a bucket of liquified investment, for repeat dipping. Did I get the wrong stuff? Can I still use this stuff up making solid forms around my waxes?

thanks for any newbie advice you can give.

dan

I  inve

First of all smelting is taking ore and refining it into metal. Melting or foundry work is taking metal and melting it and casting things from it. Please do not confuse the terms!

Your 3 suggestions sound like possible failure modes. Your investment should have come with explicit instructions, I would follow those closely and not try to experiment till you get good at it; (I do most of my casting with petrobond.)  Have you visited backyardmetalcasting.com for forums dedicated to casting?

Hi,