I Forge Iron

FIRST ANVIL

I just acquired a Hay-Budden anvil. This is my first anvil. i was on the chat last night explaining my idea of buying a dead anvil and welding a piece of steel on it to get a decent anvil for fairly cheap price. I used to be a welder in a machine shop a time ago. Well a few of the people on the chat tried to dissuwade  me. One advantage of being old is the experience, after I realized that they were right I started to look for an anvil again. I found a Hay-Budden that is in better then average condition. The fellow said that he weighed it and got around 100 lbs., I weighed it on my bathroom scale and got 92 to 93 lbs. It is clearly marked Hay-Budden and has the number 89 marked on it. The front left foot, looking at the horn has the number A31572 marked on it. The ring is good and so is the rebound, like I said this is my first one so I'm nol expert on this. The face is very flat and a little discolored. The one edge is perfect while the other has some nicks, the horn is fairly smooth with the point buggered up. I noticed when looking for an anvil that this is common, Was this done on purpose ? The hardie hole is 1 inch and the pritchel hole is about 1/2 inch.. I am glad that I took the advice of those more experienced members, and a big thank you to all who set me straight. Anybody know what those numbers mean? I will post pictures as soon as my son comes by and shows  me how.

Very common to have a blunted horn, sharpen it back up and then ram your leg or wedding tackle on it and you may find yourself grabbing a hammer and re-blunting it!  If you need a fine point make a bic for the hardy hole. (I've done several bics using bull pins...)

89 is what they weighed it as at the factory, anvils tend to have some "slop" to the weights---as do bathroom scales...  The serial number can be correlated with the date made using "Anvils In America"; but my copy is at home...