I Forge Iron

Hello first off id like to apologize if this is posted somewhere else.

I am a bit new to the art but I'm saving up to go whole hog as it were, trying to get all the tools and such. My biggest problem is building to forge. as this is mostly about bladesmithing it needs to be a certain length. I'd had many ideas and they all went down over time, it was either expense design flaw or some other thing. but eventually I saw a video on youtube about living off the grid. The video was one of xxxxxxxx I dont know if any of you have watched any of his videos, but they all have to do with living off grid or in the bush. and what intrigued me was his dual 55 gallon barrel furnace. So I got to thinking and designing. If a steel barrel could withstand furnace temperatures enough to heat a house then maybe it could do for a forge.

So my question is would id be safe to make a forge by converting a 55 gallon steel barrel into a forge by using the conversion for a barrel furnace. With this kit    link removed

Now I figure you add a bathroom fan, chimney pipe and cut an exhaust hole and you have a forge.

Please let me know if you have any experience with these, if they are safe or not or anything else. thank you very much

Like any other fire place, stove, or wood or coal heater, they are a beast that you DO NOT leave unattended. If you read the internet the 55 gallon drum stove is both loved and hated. It can be safe and can be VERY DANGEROUS to operate. Read ALL the reviews and get on the stove dedicated sites for information. If you get a drum kit, get the top barrel kit also.

When looking for a wood stove / heater be sure and ask what happens when the electric goes off. There are a few brands that will self destruct or burn up components if the fans quit working. They also will push extremely hot gasses up the chimney and heat the chimney to a dangerous level.