I Forge Iron

Bronze AND Iron?

Jake Pev

Hi Everyone!

My name is Jake and I'm very new to working with metal. However, hearing of my new hobby, my family has showered me with more scrap than I am able to even use. One interesting piece that I was given however is pretty special, and I'd like to make something out of it, but I just have some questions about my limitations. I have received an old trunnel pin made of what I have been told is Rose Bronze. This pin was salvaged from a wooden shipwreck that had a good deal of bronze and copper metal work that was provided by Paul Revere's foundry, possibly during his lifetime. As a sailor myself, I thought of making a knife and marlinspike set out of the pin. I was not sure if a 100% bronze knife was the best idea. I also had the thought of potentially pattern welding and then forging a knife from both Iron AND the piece of Rose Bronze to hopefully achieve an interesting patterned/ Damascus-esque look . Would this work? Would the two metals accept one another? What type of forging and working qualities would this pose as the heating temperatures of the two metals are quite different? Has anyone tried this? Would annealing or quenching create a catastrophic result? Would this be a lasting tool, or a waste of an antique? 

I have not tried anything yet as not to ruin this item. But any feedback would be most helpful as neither YouTube, nor Google can really direct me down the right path. Thanks!

Jake

Welcome aboard Jake, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might be surprised how may of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

Yes, bronze and iron can be diffusion welded but using a Mokume Gane technique rather than "forge welding". Both are diffusion welding but done differently.