I Forge Iron

Hi!

matt993fod

A big hello to everyone here.

I am new to blacksmithing, having had my first ever blacksmithing lesson only yesterday! This was a course for utter beginners at the Westpoint forge in Devon, run by an extremely nice bloke called John Bellamy. Under his expert instruction all of us on the course made a fabulous set of outdoor wine glass holders, and a nice set of toasting forks. I'll post pics of mine at some point, as soon as I find out how! They didnt go that badly for a first ever attempt at forging!

I must say that having tried my hand at it for the first time, I am bitten by the bug. It was the most fun I have ever had in a day, and cannot wait for the next course (as soon as I can afford it). In the meantime, I hope to be able to learn more here, and to meet some real experts of the craft.

So to everyone here, Hello!

Matt :)

Go to IForgeIron.com and click on getting started. This will provide you with a lot of information and show you how to use the site.

You may want to mark your calendar for the following events at Westpoint Show ground home to the Devon County Show.

* January 12th a Forging Experience Taster course day
That leaves just over a fortnight to catch up on your reading. (grin).

* January 26th & 27th Various twists attend on either day or both, learn how to make decorative features for handles railings etc

Go to IForgeIron.com > Blueprints > Blueprints 1000

BP1031 Step Twist
BP1029 Twist 03
BP1028 Twists 02
BP1027 Twist 01

Study what is being done and how it is being done. Then purchace some modeling clay (art supply store, or children's toys) and take the clay home and practice. The clay will move the same way as metal moves and provides a way to practice blacksmithing technique without needing a fire.

Welcome to Blacksmithing

I recently took my first ever blacksmithing lesson, at the Westpoint forge in Dorset, and am desperate to have more lessons, and as soon as possible.