I Forge Iron

Steel cooling time?

connor17

Hi, hope this is ok for me to ask. I’m a writer, and don’t know anything about blacksmithing.

Trying to find out how long it would take to cool molten steel to room temperature? The size would be a pool of it, roughly 1/2 an inch deep, 4 feet in diameter. Nothing being used to help speed the process, simply letting it sit.

Hope you guys don’t mind helping me out!

Thank you in advanced!

Can't give you an exact answer since it will vary with the amount of convection generated by air currents and the radiative loss from the surface.  I hope there is someone here that has worked in a iron foundry.  Do you really mean room temperature or do you mean able to be handled by machinery or experienced labor?  If I saw such an object  I would come back in an hour  and spit on it.  If it sizzled I'd walk away for another hour and pour a cup of coffee on it and watch how it evaporated when I returned.  If it hung around for a while then would start thinking about how to move it.   The center would likely be hotter than the edges btw. So no answer but my expectation would be three hour based only on working in a hot mill.

By the way the heat radiating for that much molten steel would be intense and set fire to anything with in 5 feet of it that was combustible.  Unprotected people would get first and second degree burns any where near it. 

Put your location in your profile. Then find a blacksmithing or organization near you and attend the meetings. In one day, you will have more answers than you have questions.

To directly try to answer your question, is the molten metal in the Great White North of Canada where - 20*F can be normal, or in the tropics where 100+ degrees is room temperature and normal? Is there a breeze or air movement. What type ground is under the metal? I can not give you a time, but in cooling the metal will hear the ground under the metal, and slow the cooling process.

Edited by Glenn

• 2 weeks later...