I Forge Iron

A Portable Side Blast

j.w.s.

I just wanted to share a simple construction project I built on Friday for some demonstrations I was doing over the weekend at the New Jersey Renaissance Faire. I'd been a little too busy with finishing up stock and thought I had a small portable coal forge ready to go, but it turns out as I was packing that my memory is not what it used to be and several key pieces had been removed and utilized in other building projects since it was last used a year a go. Anyway, I threw together a sideblast forge in about 35 minutes using just some scrap laying around the shop, some black iron pipe, a blower, some bricks and a little bit of sand. I've never built one of these before and I was absolutely shocked at how well this worked right out of the gate once I started paying attention to how the fire needed to be managed compared to my other bottom tuyere forges I've built and used in the past; of course if I had tested it before I drove it out to Jersey and fired it up for the first time, I wouldn't have been as shocked - but at the very least, I was right, it definitely looked like it would work. :) For the tue, I simply took a piece of 1.250" pipe and forged a nipple on the one end down to about 0.875". Welded some scrap together to make a damper, brazed it in line, cut a few pieces of angle iron to define the bed and two more support pieces that got welded to the base to hold the pipe and blower assembly. It's definitely inspired me to design a one for my demonstration forge at the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire this year, something a little more permanent and probably with a water jacket for cooling. I'd only ever used a sideblast once before at a friends shop and that was only for a few minutes, but I'd really starting to appreciate the design and I think it allows for better management of fuel. Anyway, enough talk, here's some pictures:

-J