I Forge Iron

An odd mounting

Rainbows

Walked into the first traction rally of the year and first stall I found had a post vice. The asking price was £40 which I took down to £25. Might have still been a bit much but the nearest vice on ebay is 55 miles away so the difference was the cost of petrol.

Now I am not a expert on vices but the thing I noticed was that there isn't the usual foot for mounting to to a post. Instead on the screw there is a nut with two flanges for bolting to the post. Below it you can see another mounting point with a U shape with threaded ends. I was just putting it here cause I was wondering if this is a particularly rare set up. 

DSCF7284.thumb.JPG.092ac21121bc089ef7af3DSCF7285.thumb.JPG.aa22dac433153f9e2c771DSCF7286.thumb.JPG.d114e411795285f0759eb

Edit: Those pictures were the right way round till I put them on here! I hope everyone can tilt their heads suitably.

Edited by Rainbows

Looks odd to me.  One brand of such vises here in America used a ubolt type bracket that was fastened around the back shaft of the vise and through a "angle iron sort of fixture that got bolted to the table.  (I've made several of these as it's a fast and simple method)  I note that the screw is a replacement as is the spring so perhaps this is just another  crude repair to get it back in business.

I would suggest making a proper mounting bracket for it. It's already a marriage so there is not good reason to try to preserve the previous kludge.  As soon as I get a weekend off I need to make a mounting bracket to clamp around a telephone pole at my new house and hold a vise for my setup at my rental hovel.