I Forge Iron

New To Me Kinyon Hammer Tuning

Hi. I've lurked here long enough. I'm a novice blacksmith and bladesmith. I just picked up an excellently built Kinyon 55lb hammer.  It runs great, and hits HARD.  I have difficulty getting it to be more delicate however.  Would adding a pressure regulator at the hammer inlet, giving me the ability to decrease operating pressure, be my best initial approach?  If so, are there regulators out there that are switchable to a few different settings rather then set by turning a knob?  Recommendations as to what measures to take and which equipment to use would be greatly appreciated.

Does your Kinyon not have an exhaust ball valve (usually connected to a foot control) that regulates hammer speed and power? My Kinyon so built works swell when the spool isn't stuck. I have replaced the Norgren valve (3) three times and the tech department offers no remedy -- any suggestions out there?

Al at Nootka Forge

It should run great on 100psi. Can you post a picture of how it's plumbed, especially the master valve block with all the hoses running in and out. They aren't that complex, we should be able to walk you through it. If I'm in the right mood, I can strike a wooden match between the flat dies without crushing the match, yours should also. 

Nootka, Are you using a remote oiler/air dryer close to, but not mounted on, your hammer? Is it flowing the correct direction, first drying, then oiling. Does it consume the oil out of the oiler? keep turning it up until a puddle forms under the treadle exhaust after a couple hours work, then turn it down a bit. I heard marvel mystery oil eats the glands in the spool valves. I been using air tool oil from the NAPA auto parts store, doing fine for 3 yrs. 

Ok. Here are a few pictures of my hammer, and it's plumbing setup.