I Forge Iron

Charcoal starter / forge Calgary, AB

skinard

Hello,

I’m a Newb and was playing on building a coal forge.  I’d like to get into knife making.  Small stuff under 10 inches.   The main purpose or though behind what I’m trying to build is a really fast charcoal starter for bbqing, then a forge second.  I BBQ multiple times a week and one weekends sometimes three times a day and only use lump charcoal atm.  Using chimneys and the random stuff I’ve seen at the bbq store don’t work or are consumable and get pricey when you bbq almost every day in the summer.  I also bbq a lots in the winter and I’m in Alberta so the winter adds to the time required to get everything up and running. 

I was planning on was using an old Charbroil barrel bbq.  And insulate the inside with a refractory material. Then use a little metal rake to stir the charcoal. Once the charcoal is started ill transfer it to the normal bbq.   Is there anything preventing a set up like this to start charcoal? or preventing it from functioning as a forge, or maybe fumes that are added that someone shouldn’t ingest.   

This is kind of what i was thinking.   Any input is appreciated . and i'm sorry if this is in the wrong section.

forge_1.thumb.png.b778c6201449a711fd621d

Edited by skinard

Welcome aboard Grill Master guy, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

I'm not clear on the charbroil barrel's purpose. Are you going to cook in it or are you just using it to light the charcoal?