I Forge Iron

Lining a brake drum forge

Dear friends

My name is Seán Shields andI am a battle re-enactor and I am new to the world of heat forging. My intention is to make simple equipment for my group. I have built a pretty reasonable break drum forge set in a square metal base with stand, canopy and bellows, and it works great but my problem is lining the inside of the drum as to create a bowl in the centre. As the drum is a large one it will use too much fuel and I wish to raise the internal height of the drum. I know people out there frown on these types of forges, but it was cheap to build and when I develop my skills and confidence I will spend the money to construct a forge that will best suit my needs. I would greatly appreciate any advice people could give me, I have tried clay and concrete but these materials just don't stand up to heat.

Many thanks. Seán

Welcome aboard Sean, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

How are you applying the clay? People have been forging in clay fire pots, bowls for a couple thousand years but there are a couple tricks to making clay work. No, concrete won't work for a fire contact surface, even in BBQs and fireplaces it's been mixed with other stuff to withstand the moderate temps of a wood or charcoal cooking fire. A drafted fire is a whole different kettle of worms.

There are "better" fire pots than a brake drum but there are worse ones too. How well any pot works is in the hands of the smith not the tool. My usual response at demos to someone who doesn't like how I'm doing something is to offer them the hammer. I've never gotten a taker. Go figure.

What period are you reenacting? What are you forging, it can make a difference in how you make the forge.

Frosty The Lucky.