I Forge Iron

First Post

Hello Everyone,
Before ya'll ask, I have read through most of the blue prints, my first project isn't going to be a knife, and I'm not anywhere close to getting started. I am pretty experienced in welding with SMAW and GMAW and I feel like I'm pretty handy in woodworking and carpentry. I'm a shop teacher by profession, so I feel pretty comfortable in shop settings.
I do have one question though, can I use the same clay mixture that Tim Lively uses in his charcoal forge for a propane forge? Maybe even one of those ammunition can forges. I think the problem might be getting the clay to stick to the top. I'm not looking for a real big forge at all. I know once I do get started, I will get ambitious and try something I can't handle and get frustrated. So I really want to start small. I really like the beam hooks and would like to make them for gifts, also the coat hangers that can be screwed into the wall.
I'm not going to ask a million different questions right now. I'm reading everything I can get my hands on, and I'm going to read all that again.

Sorry to be so chatty, really like being on here and learning.

Welcome to the group. We're not really that bad about telling you what to do (i hope). I think it's more of a strong recommendation. You've enough experience under your belt to know your limits and be safe. Good luck and do feel free to ask questions. Don't forget the search button at the top of the page though, you might just find out it's already been answered and will save you waiting for a reply.
Not familiar with Tim's clay, but clay is pretty easy to shape as long as it's not too wet. Shouldn't be much problem with that span.

hooks:
All made with 1/4 inch stock.

Scroll on the left makes it appear heavier than it is, unbalanced. Corner is not squared.

Center is a better scroll for the size stock.