I Forge Iron

Forge not hot enough

Krown Kustoms

Hey everyone. I am new to this but have been playing around with different setups for my propane forge.

I built a forge using a 10 gallon air tank and some fire brick. The burners (2 burners) are 1" pipe about 10" long into a 1" to 1.5" reducer with 1/8 90's into the center. I believe the 90's are restricting too much air flow. It heats the garage like you wouldnt believe but not hot enough to weld. I found this today.

I originaly built this to heat knives for hardening and it works great but I found today not efficiant at all due to the gas usage.

I have a few pics but not on computer yet..Ill post them soon.

I went ahead today and bought the parts to build the "T" burner. I think its Frostys design but not too sure. Looks promising though. I will give credit where its due when I have time to find the author of the build.

I bought enough parts to build 3 burners. Before I do I was wondering how many would be best for the 10 gallon tank forge. I assume 3 would be ok due to the 2 I have now leave a cool spot between the two on the bricks.

Thanks for any input.

Put up some pics of what you have and the dimensions of the inside of your forge. We'll get you up and running in no time. It's almost impossible to give specific answers to vague questions. A 10gl. tank is just the shell, the volume and dimensions that count are the fire chamber.