I Forge Iron

New to Blacksmithing,In Fairbanks

Intro.. Name is Jeff, living in Fairbanks. I have been playing with a homebuilt coal forge for several months and using the local coal. What do you guys think of the coal we get from Healy? Is there a supply of coal that is better for smithing, here in Alaska?    Thanks, Jeff

Hi Jeff,

Most people who have used the Healy Coal have not been that impressed. Having said that I have a friend who seems to like it fine, perhaps there are different veins in the mine. I use propane, most of the people I know also use propane. I am told that the coal from Chickaloon is much better for forging than that from Healy. Usibelli is trying to open  a mine here that might be good but I don't know anyone who has tried the coal they are looking at.

I tried coal that you can get for free off the beach around Anchor River. The veins of coal are in the cliff bluffs and slough off down to the beach. With a 4 wheeler and trailer you can get all you want. Too good to be true? Probably. I have very little experience with coal but with my small rivet forge made a couple small pieces and just within an hour I got a clinker that was 4 inches across and just about choked off the grate. Im sure alot of that comes from my lack of knowledge with coal.

Most of the coal is very flakey and smokes alot. Although there were a couple of softball size pieces that were very hard to breakup and seemed to burn much cleaner.

Is all the coal for sale up here from Healy? Its the only active coal mine I know of up here.

I am pretty sure all the coal we can buy from in state soarses comes from Healy.

The coal from Healy heats ok to good, but has lots of clinkers also. I get about 30 minutes then have to dig out a dome of glass to get the air back.

The coal from Sutton reads to be a better grade of coal for blacksmithing. I was wondering if anybody down there had a soarse of it to try.